Posts filed under 'Reference sources'
Bibliographic Resources:
Western Language Materials for Japanese Studies
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES (Selected)
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
(EAS: DS805 .K633 1983 – in Ackerman Library)
Online: available through Japan Knowledge
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?Japan+Knowledge
CD-ROM version available for check out: DS805 .E53 1999 Computer file
Encyclopedia Britannica Online http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?Encyclopedia+Britannica+Online
Encyclopedia of Religion. 2d ed. (Reference: BL31 .E46 2005 – Sullivant Libary)
Online: http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?Encyclopedia+of+Religion
JAANUS Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System (online)
http://www.aisf.or.jp/%7Ejaanus/
Dictionary of approximately 8000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868)
Note: Hepburn system of romanization is used, although with hiragana notation system for long vowels (ex. tourou rather than toro)
Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia
RESEARCH BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND DATABASES (Selected)
Library catalog: http://library.ohio-state.edu/
Research databases: http://library.ohio-state.edu/screens/databases.html
OCLC Worldcat:
http://library.ohio-state.edu.proxy.lib.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000379
*Electronic database listing items in thousands of libraries around the world
*All formats and types of published and unpublished items included.
*OCLC statistics: http://www.oclc.org/worldcat/statistics/default.asp
Bibliography for Asian Studies
Online version covers 1971+
http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000093
Note:
Use printed bibliographies for earlier years – for example:
Cumulative bibliography of Asian studies, 1966-1970
(EAS: Z3001.C83 1966 -1970 + Z3001.C84 1966 -1970)
Cumulative bibliography of Asian studies, 1941-1965
(EAS: Z3001.C8 + Z3001.C82)
Ward, Robert Edward. The Allied occupation of Japan, 1945-1952: an annotated bibliography of Western-language materials (EAS Z3308.A5 W35 1974 )
Nachod (Japan: 1906-1937) (EAS: Z3301 .W462 + Z3301 .W463 )
Wenckstern (Japan: 1859-1906) (EAS: Z3301 .W46 1998)
John Dower. Japanese history and culture from ancient to modern times
(1995) (EAS: Z3306 .D69 1995 – in Ackerman Library)
H-Japan http://www.h-net.org/~japan/
ISI Citation Databases
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?Web+of+Science
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
General search + Cited reference search + Advanced search
**tutorials available! http://scientific.thomson.com/tutorials/wos7/index.html
JSTOR
Online access and search of digitized journals in various fields (5 yr wall)
http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000042
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies http://www.jstor.org/journals/00730548.html
Journal of Asian Studies http://www.aasianst.org/catalog/jas.htm
Journal of Japanese Studies http://depts.washington.edu/jjs/
Monumenta Nipponica http://monumenta.cc.sophia.ac.jp/
Library of Congress Global Gateway
(Country Studies; Portal to the World, etc)
http://international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html
Portal to Japan: http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/asian/japan/japan.html
Country Study for Japan: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/jptoc.html
Linguistics Abstracts Online (15,000 abstracts from 300 linguistics journals since 1985)
http://proxy.lib.ohio-state.edu/login?url=http://www.linguisticsabstracts.com
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
http://www.csa2.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=osul&access=osul312&cat=llba
MLA International Bibliography
(index to literary criticism and scholarship in folklore and linguistics)
Online version covers 1960-
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?MLA+International+Bibliography
For 1921-1959 use printed version: (ETC; Reference; STX: Z7006 M6)
Nichibunken – pre-1900 works on Japan in Western languages in the Nichibunken Library (1,057 items)
http://www.nichibun.ac.jp/graphicversion/dbase/obun_e.html
Portal to Asian Internet Resources
http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/PAIR/
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
(index, abstracts to dissertations and some masters theses from the U.S. and some other countries)
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?ProQuest+Dissertations
Psych Info
http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000319 (1967- )
http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000318 (1887-1966)
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
1900- (Indexes, SUL AI3R23)
See also Nineteenth Century Readers’ Guide, 1890–1899. (SUL AI3 .R29 )Index to contemporary, popular periodicals on a wide range of subjects, ca. 1890-1922.
IMAGES, FILMS, ETC (Selected)
Selected Film resources
OhioLINK digital video collection http://olc7.ohiolink.edu/whatsnew/archives/000125.html (search on JAPAN)
For selected EA-related list (not complete): http://easc.osu.edu/contents/ohiolink_resources.html
for Japan-related list (not complete):
http://library.osu.edu/blogs/japanese/?p=37
Finding Japanese films in Ohio State’s collections
http://library.osu.edu/blogs/japanese/?p=40
TRANSLATIONS
Japanese Literature in Translation Database (Japan Foundation)
http://www.jpf.go.jp/cgi-bin/jlsearch/jlsearch_e.cgi
Premodern Japanese Texts and Translations
http://www.meijigakuin.ac.jp/~pmjs/trans/index.html
*texts written in Japan before the year 1600
*covers works of importance for the study of Japanese religion, history, or culture
*arranged in the alphabetical order of the Japanese titles
*Links — book titles in print to Amazon
— titles of journal articles to JSTOR
— marked online or PDF to articles made freely available on web
*PMJS – Michael Watson (Meiji Gakuin U) http://www.meijigakuin.ac.jp/~pmjs/
October 9th, 2006
Handout for History of Art 582 (Arts of Japan)
October 12, 2006
Maureen Donovan
donovan.1@osu.edu
Bibliographic and Research Tools for Japanese Art History
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES (Selected)
JAANUS Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System (online)
http://www.aisf.or.jp/%7Ejaanus/
Dictionary of approximately 8000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868)
Note: Hepburn system of romanization is used, although with hiragana notation system for long vowels (ex. tourou rather than toro)
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
(EAS: DS805 .K633 1983 – in Ackerman Library)
Online: available through Japan Knowledge
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?Japan+Knowledge
CD-ROM version available for check out: DS805 .E53 1999 Computer file
The Dictionary of Art (1996)
34 volumes (FIN N31 .D53 1996 – in Fine Arts Library)
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?Encyclopedia+Britannica+Online
Encyclopedia of Religion
2d ed. (Reference: BL31 .E46 2005 – Sullivant Libary)
Online: http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?Encyclopedia+of+Religion
Wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia
RESEARCH BIBLIOGRAPHIES, JOURNALS, AND DATABASES (Selected)
Reader’s Guide to the Arts of Japan
http://www.asiasociety.org/arts/japan/bibliography.html
*Organized by medium (painting, photography, prints, sculpture, calligraphy, ceramics, lacquer and enamel, textiles, arms and armor, folk art, architecture, gardens) and period; fully searchable
Database of Japanese Art in Overseas Collections
(5,883 items)
http://www.nichibun.ac.jp/graphicversion/dbase/japan_e.html
Ohio State’s Library catalog:
http://library.ohio-state.edu/
Research databases:
http://library.ohio-state.edu/screens/databases.html
OCLC Worldcat:
http://library.ohio-state.edu.proxy.lib.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000379
*Electronic database listing items in thousands of libraries around the world
*All formats and types of published and unpublished items included.
*OCLC statistics: http://www.oclc.org/worldcat/statistics/default.asp
Bibliography for Asian Studies
Online version covers 1971+
http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000093
Note:
Use printed bibliographies for earlier years – for example:
Cumulative bibliography of Asian studies, 1966-1970
(EAS: Z3001.C83 1966 -1970 + Z3001.C84 1966 -1970)
Cumulative bibliography of Asian studies, 1941-1965
(EAS: Z3001.C8 + Z3001.C82)
Ward, Robert Edward. The Allied occupation of Japan, 1945-1952: an annotated bibliography of Western-language materials (EAS Z3308.A5 W35 1974 )
Nachod (Japan: 1906-1937) (EAS: Z3301 .W462 + Z3301 .W463 )
Wenckstern (Japan: 1859-1906) (EAS: Z3301 .W46 1998)
John Dower. Japanese history and culture from ancient to modern times
(1995) (EAS: Z3306 .D69 1995 – in Ackerman Library)
CBEL.com: Traditional Japanese Art
(links to web sites)
http://www.cbel.com/traditional_japanese_art/
ISI Citation Databases
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?Web+of+Science
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
General search + Cited reference search + Advanced search
**tutorials available! http://scientific.thomson.com/tutorials/wos7/index.html
Japanese Literature in Translation Database (Japan Foundation)
http://www.jpf.go.jp/cgi-bin/jlsearch/jlsearch_e.cgi
JSTOR
Online access and search of digitized journals in various fields (5 yr wall)
http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000042
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies http://www.jstor.org/journals/00730548.html
Journal of Asian Studies http://www.aasianst.org/catalog/jas.htm
Journal of Japanese Studies http://depts.washington.edu/jjs/
Monumenta Nipponica http://monumenta.cc.sophia.ac.jp/
Kokka 1889- N8K7
Library of Congress Global Gateway
(Country Studies; Portal to the World, etc)
http://international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html
Portal to Japan: http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/asian/japan/japan.html
Country Study for Japan: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/jptoc.html
MLA International Bibliography
(index to literary criticism and scholarship in folklore and linguistics)
Online version covers 1960-
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?MLA+International+Bibliography
For 1921-1959 use printed version: (ETC; Reference; STX: Z7006 M6)
Nihon no Bijutsu (Shibundo)
Monthly journal, with each issue devoted to a particular topic
Titles of issues translated here at Ohio State (comments and suggestions for revisions are welcome!):
No. 350- http://library.osu.edu/blogs/japanese/?p=39
No. 1-349: http://library.osu.edu/blogs/japanese/?p=42
Portal to Asian Internet Resources
http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/PAIR/
Premodern Japanese Texts and Translations
http://www.meijigakuin.ac.jp/~pmjs/trans/index.html
*texts written in Japan before the year 1600
*covers works of importance for the study of Japanese religion, history, or culture
*arranged in the alphabetical order of the Japanese titles
*Links — book titles in print to Amazon
— titles of journal articles to JSTOR
— marked online or PDF to articles made freely available on web
*PMJS – Michael Watson (Meiji Gakuin U) http://www.meijigakuin.ac.jp/~pmjs/
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
(index, abstracts to dissertations and some masters theses from the U.S. and some other countries)
http://library.ohio-state.edu/search/y?ProQuest+Dissertations
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
1900- (Indexes, SUL AI3R23)
See also Nineteenth Century Readers’ Guide, 1890–1899. (SUL AI3 .R29 )Index to contemporary, popular periodicals on a wide range of subjects, ca. 1890-1922.
Religion Database (ATLA)
http://library.ohio-state.edu/record=e1000086
(1949- ) Find articles and books on the history of religion from all periods
IMAGES, FILMS, ETC (Selected)
OhioLINK Art and Architecture Digital Media
http://dmc.ohiolink.edu/art/Login
OhioLINK digital video collection http://olc7.ohiolink.edu/whatsnew/archives/000125.html (search on JAPAN)
For selected EA-related list (not complete): http://easc.osu.edu/contents/ohiolink_resources.html
Online Exhibits:
Artcyclopedia: Japanese artists
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/nationalities/Japanese.html
e-Kokuho
http://www.emuseum.jp/
Floating World of Ukiyo-e (Library of Congress)
http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/ukiyo-e/
The Japanese Garden
http://academic.bowdoin.edu/zen/
Jim Breen’s Ukiyoe Exhibit and links to other online Ukiyoe exhibits
http://www.csse.monash.edu.au/%7Ejwb/ukiyoe/ukiyoe.html
Kyoto National Museum
http://www.kyohaku.go.jp/eng/index_top.html
See especially Masterworks section: http://www.kyohaku.go.jp/eng/syuzou/index.html
Kyushu National Museum
http://www.kyuhaku.com/eng/
Los Angeles Country Museum of Art – Japanese Department
http://www.lacma.org/japaneseart/japan.htm
online collections: http://collectionsonline.lacma.org/mwebcgi/mweb.exe?request=browpage&dept=japan
Nara National Museum
http://www.narahaku.go.jp/index_e.html
Nichibunken
http://www.nichibun.ac.jp/graphicversion/dbase/database_e.html
Sainsbury Institute for the Study of Japanese Arts and Cultures
http://www.sainsbury-institute.org/
Tokyo National Museum
http://www.tnm.jp/en/gallery/region/japan.html
Virtual LibraryMuseums – Museums in Japan:
http://vlmp.museophile.org/japan.html
Virtual Museum of Japanese Art
http://web-japan.org/museum/menu.html
October 9th, 2006
Japanese bibliographic publications are ceasing print publication and changing to web editions. That makes it easier for everyone, but finding and keeping track of them is a challenge. I’m going to start locating and collecting links to them on this blog, as time permits.
This idea to do this came to me today when I realized today that our print subscription to Norin suisan tosho shiryo geppo 農林水産図書資料月 had ceased after the March 2004 issue. This has been a particularly useful resource with annotated entries on books related to agriculture, forestry and fisheries in Japan. Admittedly I have been slow to pick up on the fact that the monthly issues had not been coming, but things have been busy! (My normal excuse…)
I found the web edition of this monthly, including all back issues at the following URL –
http://www.maff.go.jp/library/monthly/index.html
The site includes back issues from the beginning of the web edition in April 2004. Each issue includes:
- annotated citations for new books,
- a detailed listing of new journal issues (not complete contents, but a brief note of any special focus),
- list of new publications from the Ministry
- A bibliographic article on a topic of special interest
The bibliographic article for the July issue dealt with changes in the labeling laws for produce and processed foods in Japan. In addition to an overview of recent changes in legislation, the article included a bibliography on the topic listed under the following categories — Ministry publications, special issues of journals, trade books, and films.
Ohio State’s holdings of v. 38-54 (1987-2003) are still available through OSCAR, the library’s catalog.
Updated 11/11/2007 mhd
*********
July 25th, 2005
A new database service, GeNii (pronounced JEE-nee) has been available since April 1. It is a collection of Japanese databases maintained by the National Institute of Informatics (NII), Japan.
CiNii (pronounced SI-nee) is an index to Japanese journal articles, which includes Zasshi kiji sakuin (雑誌記事索引) and university kiyo (紀要) database. It also provides full-text access to many recent articles. Obtaining full-text articles will be a subscription service, while searching the database will remain free. Although we are planning institutional subscription to this database, it is freely available for personal use until the end of June. So, please check out this new journal database!
The other GeNii databases are freely available for public use. Webcat Plus is a union catalog of book and journal holdings in Japanese university libraries and other institutions. It also helps you find out-of-print books that are in their collections. Kaken is a database of research projects funded by the Japanese government. NII-DBR is a free service that allows users to search in 25 specialized academic databases in Japan.
April 7th, 2005
Japan Knowledge, a new collection of Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries, and databases, has been made accessible to OSU library users since February 1. It includes such electronic resources as Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, 日本人名大辞典 (Nihon jinmei dai jiten), 大辞泉 (Dai jisen), 現代用語の基礎知識 (Gendai yogo no kiso chishiki), and JK Who’s Who (current database of well-known individuals in Japan). These new online resources should serve as reliable reference tools that can be used to check basic, factual questions about Japanese language, culture, and history from your home or office as the Japanese collections at the Main Library are relocated to a remote former factory on the Ackerman Drive.
February 5th, 2005