Using the Clipboard

The clipboard is a temporary way to select records while searching and browsing, and add them to a list to review.

Note: once you end your search session, the clipboard will not be saved.

The clipboard can is used to save collections and the selected parts of the collection (such as Series or File), Units and Authority records.

Adding Items to the Clipboard

You can add records to the clipboard from the search or browse results page or the view page for an individual record.

clicking on the add to clipboard button turns it into the remove from clipboard button

To add a record to the clipboard, click the clipboard icon for that record. It will turn red when it has been added, and you can click the icon again to remove it from the clipboard.

On the results page, the icon is to the right of the description for each record.

for each record in a list, the clipboard button comes after the link to the record

On the view page, the icon is at the top of the context menu to the right of the main description.

on each record page, the clipboard button comes at the top of the context menu

Viewing Items in the Clipboard

The clipboard menu is in the tool bar at the top of each page under the clipboard icon.

The menu also shows you how many selections you have made and gives you options to either view the clipboard or clear all selections.

the menu for clipboard options is near the top of the page after the search bar

Click “Go to clipboard” to view the clipboard page.

The clipboard page shows the added records for one type of entity at a time: collection (default), authority record, or unit.

Clipboard Results by Entity Type

the button to select entity type comes after the link to print preview

Using the drop-down menu at the top of the page, you can view the different entity types that you added. There are also drop-downs to sort the clipboard.

Export from clipboard

At the bottom of the page are buttons to clear the clipboard by entity or export the clipboard by each entity as either a CSV or XML file.

the page for clipboard export

If choosing to clear or remove individual items from the clipboard page, a warning will pop up before the records are removed. Refresh the page to see the updated list.

the alert that shows after you click the clear collections clipboard button. The clipboard is already cleared. To return the items to your clipboard, you must click the add to clipboard buttons again before refreshing the page.