2016 Margo Jones Award honors Ricky J. Martinez

Ricky Martinez


Ricky J. Martinez, artistic director for the New Theatre in Miami, Florida, has been named the recipient of the 2016 Margo Jones Award, presented by The Ohio State University Libraries and OSU Arts and Humanities. The award honors those who have demonstrated a significant impact, understanding and affirmation of the craft of playwriting, and who have encouraged living theatre everywhere.

Martinez is a spirited Cuban-American “theatre maker.” As an award-winning director, Martinez has been invited to direct for the MFA Playwrights’ Workshop at the Kennedy Center’s American College Theater Festival, and Stanford University’s National Center for New Plays; James Madison University and the Forbes Center; Words A-Fire Festival in New Mexico; Ignition Fest at Victory Gardens, and others, in addition to his direction for New Theatre. Martinez’ risk-taking and collaborations with playwrights on more than 50 world premiere plays have lead to Pulitzer Prize finalists/wins and ATCA’s Steinberg finalists/wins, among other prestigious awards, with many have preserved for the American theatre landscape by being published. Nationally, Martinez has stayed an active champion for new works, participating on the Executive Committee for the National New Play Network (NNPN); the Advisory Board of the Latino Theatre Commons; the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) panelist (seven years); Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation; National Fund for New Musicals; PlayPenn; and San Antonio’s Luminaria Festival.

As a playwright, Martinez has been mentored by Arthur Kopit and Tina Howe; is an NNPN playwright alumni, and has works being read and produced nationally and internationally. Martinez is an accomplished actor, dancer, choreographer, singer, song writer, musician, community leader and theatre activist. He has recently been empowering hometown artists, as well as audiences, with the celebrated Miami 1-Acts Festival that provides a platform for Miami-centric voices of the next generation of theatre makers to be heard. 3

The award will be presented to Martinez at the South Miami-Dade Cultural Arts Center (Cutler Bay, Florida) on April 30 at a ceremony which will include such notable speakers as Carol Cadby, a 30-year Theatre educator who teaches at George Mason University, Signature Theatre, Synetic Theatre, The D.C. Theatre Lab Conservatory and Arlington Public Schools; and William “Bill” Schwartz, professional actor and New Theatre favorite.

The Margo Jones Medal commemorates one of the pioneers of the American professional regional theatre movement. Jones (1912-1955) supported and nurtured new plays at the theatre she founded in Dallas in 1947, including Tennessee Williams’s Summer and Smoke and Lawrence and Lee’s Inherit the Wind. The pattern she created for developing new plays is now a standard method for producing new plays in the living American theatre. Members of the Medal Committee are Deborah Robison for the family of Jerome Lawrence; Janet Waldo Lee, Lucy Lee, and Jonathan Barlow Lee for the family of Robert E. Lee; and Nena Couch, Beth Kattelman, and Mary Tarantino for the Lawrence and Lee Theatre Research Institute at Ohio State.

Margo Jones Medal

Margo Jones Medal