Nena Couch

Head, Area Studies & Spec Coll

1858 Neil Ave Mall Columbus, OH 43210-1286
 614-292-9606 Download vCard

Nena Couch is the Head of Area Studies and Thompson Library Special Collections at The Ohio State University Libraries. Her combined role for the two departments is to advance research, teaching and learning; enable engagement with global initiatives; and enhance the ongoing national and international reputations of Area Studies and Special Collections through strategic collection building, focused patron services, and purposeful programming and outreach.

About Nena

Nena joined The Ohio State University Libraries as the first curator of the Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute. She holds a courtesy appointment in the Department of Theatre, and is a category-P member of the OSU Graduate Faculty. Her research is in performing arts librarianship and the performing arts with an emphasis on Spanish dance of the 16th-18th centuries, and Czech theatre scenography.  Awards include the Harvard Houghton Library’s Rothschild Fellowship for Research in Dance, Theatre Library Association Distinguished Service in Performing Arts Librarianship Award, OSU Libraries’ Tiefel Achievement in Teaching Award, and the Slovene Research Initiative Faculty Exchange of The Ohio State University Center for Slavic and East European Studies and the Research Center of the Slovene Academy of Sciences and Arts.  She has served on the boards of the Theatre Library Association, the Dance Heritage Coalition, and the International Association of Libraries and Museums of the Performing Arts (SIBMAS). Nena currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Bebe Miller Company.


  • M.L.S. in Academic Librarianship, Library and Information Science, Vanderbilt University
  • M.M. in Musicology, George Peabody College for Teachers

Committees and Service

  • Management Committee
  • Center for Slavic and East European Studies Affiliate Faculty
  • Faculty co-liaison, University Libraries/Expanding Visions Foundation partnership
  • Digital Preservation & Access Working Group