Services for Non-Ohio State Users

Courtesy Cards

Courtesy card holders are subject to the same policies as students, faculty and staff and are responsible for returning and renewing materials checked out on their library account in a timely manner. Courtesy library cards are available to:

Courtesy cards are issued at the Circulation Desk of Thompson LibraryHealth Sciences LibraryLaw Library, and Regional Libraries. 

Visiting Scholars and other individuals who are currently not a faculty, staff, or students at Ohio State University may be eligible for a courtesy card. To determine your eligibility, please call 614-292-OSUL (6785).

Loan Period and Limits on Borrowing

Courtesy patrons will have a borrowing limit of up to ten items with a maximum of five OhioLINK items for a 21 day loan period, and up to six possible renewals, provided another patron does not place a hold on the item.

Interlibrary Loan and publisher license agreements limit access to the Libraries' electronic journals, databases, and books to current students, faculty, and staff of The Ohio State University.  

Reciprocal Borrowing Privilege

Big Ten Academic Alliance

BTAA Faculty, Graduate and Undergraduage students may borrow items from or have access to the collections of  participating Big Ten University Libraries through the, Big Ten Acadmeic Alliance.  Please view the links below to learn more about this program.

Big Ten Acadmic Alliance Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement