The Ohio State University

www.osu.edu

  1. Help
  2. Campus map
  3. Find people
  4. Webmail


Ohio State University logo University Libraries arrow Vet Med Livrary
Dr. Samuel and Marian Hodesson Vet Med Vet Med Veterinary medicine library

Hours:

Monday-Thursday 8am-10pm
Friday 8am-6pm
Saturday 10am-6pm
Sunday 12pm=9pm

Directions and parking information


Veterinary Medicine Library 225 Veterinary Medicine Academic Building
1900 Coffey Rd.
Columbus, OH 43210

Phone: 614-292-6107
Fax: 614-292-7476

Veterinary Databases
_____________________

Agricola

Agricola covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciencees, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

BIOSIS Previews*

BIOSIS Previews includes Biological Abstracts and indexes over 5,500 journals, meetings and conference reports, books, and patents in agriculture, biology, biotechnology, environment, wildlife, ecology, agriculture, forestry and the health sciences.

CAB Abstracts*

CAB Abstracts is a comprehensive agricultural and applied life sciences database, providing citations and abstracts to international literature in the fields of agriculture; animal breeding, genetics, and nutrition; forestry; human nutrition; veterinary medicine; and the environment. Updated weekly, the database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book chapters, these and dissertations, in addition to annual reports, patents, standards from 1910 to present.

Consultant

Consultant functions as a diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine. Specific or possible diagnoses for a species can be searched by keyword or signs.

PubMed

PubMed provides over 15 million citations and abstracts in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and additional life sciences. While coverage of veterinary medicine is limited to "veterinary science in relation to human health, biomedical research and advances in biomedical medicine," more than 80 major veterinary medicine journal titles are indexed in PubMed.

Web of Science*

Provides access to all three citation indexes which can be searched individually or as one file.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
  • Science Citation Index Expanded indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines and contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70 percent of the articles in the database.
  • The Social Sciences Citation Index indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. It contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 60 per cent of the articles in the database.
  • Vet Med Library

    Library Catalogs:

    Recommended Databases:


    *Access restricted to OSU students, faculty and staff
    _____________________
    Last updated, April 2, 2008