The Ohio State University

www.osu.edu

  1. Help
  2. Campus map
  3. Find people
  4. Webmail


Ohio State University logo University Libraries arrow Guides and Tools
MLA Citation Guide

[Click a link to jump down to the relevant section]


Introduction


Print or Microform

Book (one author)

Book (two or three authors)

Book (corporate author)

Anthology

Work in an Anthology

Journal Article (one author)

Journal Article (two authors

Magazine Article

Newspaper Article

Encyclopedia Article

Review


Electronic Resources

Journal Article

Item from a Library Database

Thesis or Dissertation

Electronic Book

Web Site

Television Program

Sound Recording (CD)


Other Citation Questions?


Other Links

Research and Internet Aids

OSU Libraries

How Do I ... Cite Resources?

MLA Citation Guide


[Practice with the Interactive online tutorial from Eastern Washington University]



Introduction

This guide is based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed. (Modern Language Society, 2003).

Works Cited items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Parenthetical references are for items referred to in the body of the paper.

For additional examples, please refer to the MLA Handbook available in the Reference collections in Ackermen Library, Law Library, Sullivant Library, and other Ohio State University Libraries. (LB 2369 G53 2003)

[Go to Top of Page]


Book

(one author)

Bibliography:
Johnson, Charles Richard. Middle Passage. New York: 
	Atheneum, 1990.

Parenthetical:

(Johnson 176)

[Go to Top of Page]


Book

(two or three authors)

Bibliography:
Leakey, Mary D. and Louis S. B. Leakey. Some String Figures from
	North East Angola. Lisboa: Museu do Dundo, 1949.

Parenthetical:

(Leakey and Leakey 92)

[Go to Top of Page]


Book

(corporate author

Bibliography:
Batelle Institute. Land Use: West Central Ohio,
	Dayton Power and Light Company. Columbus:
	Battelle Institute, 1960.

Parenthetical:

(Battelle 78)

[Go to Top of Page]


Books

(anthology)

Bibliography:
McNally, John, ed. Humor Me: An Anthology of Humor
	by Writers of Color. Iowa City: U of Iowa P, 
	2002.

Parenthetical:

(McNally xv)

[Go to Top of Page]


Books

work in an anthology

Bibliography:
James, Henry. "The Friends of the Friends." The Norton
	Book of Ghost Stories. Ed. Brad Leithauser. New 
	York: Norton, 1994. 40-60.

Parenthetical:

(James 47)

[Go to Top of Page]


Journal Article

(one author)

Bibliography:
Myerson, Joel. "A Calendar of Transcendental Club Meetings." 
	American Literature 44 (1972): 197-207.

Parenthetical:

(Myerson 199)

[For articles and other items located using an online database, use the citation style under Item from a Library Database below.]

[Go to Top of Page]


Journal Article

(two authors)

Bibliography:
Brown, Cecelia M., and Lina Ortega. "Information-seeking
	Behavior of Physical Science Librarians: Research and
	Practice." College & Research Libraries 66 
	(2005): 231-247.

Parenthetical:

(Brown and Ortega 237)

[For articles and other items located using an online database, use the citation style under Item from a Library Database below.]

[Go to Top of Page]


Magazine Article

Bibliography:
Cook, Mariana. "Cousin Kay." Victoria. Nov. 
	2001: 27-28.

Parenthetical:

(Cook 28)

[For articles and other items located using an online database, use the citation style under Item from a Library Database below.]

[Go to Top of Page]


Newspaper Article

Bibliography:
Johnston, David Cay. "Got Game? Got Old Game?" New
	York Times 11 July 2003, late ed., F1+.

Parenthetical:

(Johnston F1)

[For articles and other items located using an online database, use the citation style under Item from a Library Database below.]

[Go to Top of Page]


Encyclopedia Article

Work Cited:
"Magna Carta." The New Encyclopedia Britannica. 15th ed. 
	1998.

Parenthetical:

("Magna Carta" 521)

[Go to Top of Page]


Review

Bibliography:
Barth, Melissa E. Rev. of The Summons, by John Grisham. 
	Magill Book Reviews 1 Nov. 2002: 221. 

Parenthetical:

(Barth 221)

[Go to Top of Page]


Electronic Journal Article

Bibliography
Scott, Jonathan. "Advanced, Repressed, and Popular:
	Langston Hughes During the Cold War." College
	Literature 33, no. 2 (Spring 2006): 
	27 August 2007. <http://web.ebscohost.com/>. 

Parenthetical:

(Scott)

[Go to Top of Page]


Item from a Library Database

Bibliography:
Clark, Zsuzsanna. "From Saturday-Night Poetry to Big 
	Brother." New Statesman 132 (21 July 2003): 
	32. Academic Search Complete. EBSCOHost. 
	Ohio State University Libraries, Columbus. OH 
	27 Aug. 2007 <http://search.ebscohost.com>. 

Parenthetical:

(Clark)

[Go to Top of Page]


Thesis or Dissertation

(digital)

Bibliography:
Ryals, Douglas Wesley. Renaissance Speculation 
	Shakespeare and the Prehistory of Liberalis.
	Diss. University of California, Irvine, 2006. Proquest
	Digital Dissertations. Proquest. The Ohio State
	University LIbraries, Columbus, OH. 27 Aug. 2007
	<http://www.proquest.com/>. 

Parenthetical:

(Ryals 251)

[Go to Top of Page]


Electronic Book

Bibliography:
Hartog, Hendrick. Man and Wife in America: A History.  
	2002. 27 August 2007 <http://quod.lib.uumich.edu>. 

Parenthetical:

(Hartog 2002)

[Go to Top of Page]


Web Site

Bibliography:
Campbell, Donna. The Edith Wharton Society. 5 Aug.
	2003. Gonzaga University. 27 Aug. 2007 
	<http://guweb2.gonzaga.edu/faculty/campbell/wharton/indexa.html>.

Parenthetical:

(Edith)

[Go to Top of Page]


Television Program

Bibliography:
"Popularity of Fur on Rise Again." Narr. Virginia Cha. 
	Sunday Today. NBC. WNBC, New York. 9 Feb. 
	2003.

Parenthetical:

("Popularity of Fur")

[Go to Top of Page]


Sound Recording (CD)

Bibliography:
Copland, Aaron. Long Time Ago: American Songs.  
	Saint Paul Chamber Orch. Cond. Hugh Wolff.  
	Teldec, 1994.

Parenthetical:

(Copland)

[Go to Top of Page]


Other Citation Questions?

For other citation questions, see:

MLA Style - Frequently Asked Questions http://www.mla.org/style_faq

[Go to Top of Page]


Research and Internet Aids | OSU Libraries

Last Update: 1/18/08