The Ohio State University

www.osu.edu

  1. Help
  2. Campus map
  3. Find people
  4. Webmail


Ohio State University logo University Libraries arrow Guides and Tools

[Click a link to jump down to the relevant section]


Circulation

How to check out, renew, and request

Closed Reserves


Library Catalogs

OSU Libraries' Catalog

OhioLINK Update

OhioLINK Snapshot


Citation Styles

APA

CBE (now CSE)

Chicago - (Author-Date)

Chicago - (Notes-Bib)

Citing Net Sources

CSE

MLA

Turabian (See Chicago)


Downloading Citations

EndNote

ProCite

Reference Manager


Internet Research

net.TUTOR

Gateway to Information


Other Guides

Guide to Resources & Services

Create a Course Pack (OSU faculty)

Library Instruction

Library Language

Library of Congress

Off-Campus Access

Search Strategy


Library Maps

OSU Library Map (small)

OSU Library Map (poster)


Special Collections

Resources for the World's Languages & Cultures

Special Collections


Libraries' Home


Research Guides and Tools

[All guides created by The Ohio State University Libraries. PDF versions of documents require free Acrobat viewer software.]



Circulation

Check Out, Renew, and Request Library Items
Covers how to borrow library materials, renew items, request items, have items delivered to your dorm or office, view your circulation record, understand fines and charges, appeal library charges, and other circulation services.

E-Reserves
Provides information on the Electronic Reserves service including request ereserve services, forms, Carmen access, access latest Acrobat software, copyright info, disability access, questions, etc.

[Go to Top of Page]


OSU Libraries' Catalog / OhioLINK

Using the Libraries' Catalog
Covers a description of the Libraries' Catalog, its holdings, how to access the catalog via the World-Wide Web, examples of all searches, how to limit or expand searches, transfering a search to OhioLINK, etc..

OhioLINK Update
The OhioLINK semiannual newsletter documenting news about the OhioLINK catalog, databases, and services.
[PDF version]

OhioLINK Snapshot
PDF version of the 2002 OhioLINK yearly newsletter documenting statistical information about OhioLINK members, catalog usage, databases, and services.
[ PDF version]

[Go to Top of Page]


Citation Style Guides

APA Citation Guide
Based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th edition, this guide provides examples for citing books; book chapters; encyclopedia, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; ERIC reports; online databases; and Internet resources.

[Practice with the Interactive online tutorial from Eastern Washington University]

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide - (Author-Date System)
Based on The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, this guide provides examples in Author-Date style (recommended for physical, natural, and social sciences) for citing books; encyclopedia, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; e-books and journals; and Internet resources.

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide - (Notes-Bibliography System)
Based on The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, this guide provides examples in Notes-Bibliography style (recommended for literature, history, and the arts) for citing books; encyclopedia, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; e-books and journals; and Internet resources.

Citing Net Sources - net.TUTOR Quick Guide
Examples of citation style for electronic format materials (listservs, the World Wide Web, online databases, etc.) from the OSU Libraries net.TUTOR tutorial

CSE (Science) Citation Guide (formerly CBE Citation Guide)
Based on the Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th edition, this guide provides examples for citing books; book chapters; journal articles; conference papers and abstracts; technical reports; and dissertations theses.

Modern Language Association (MLA) Citation Guide
Based on the MLA Handbooks for Writers of Research Papers, 6th edition, this guide provides examples for citing books; anthologies and works in anthologies; encyclopedia, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; reviews; works of art; television programs; sournd recordings; online databases; and Internet resources.

[Practice with the Interactive online tutorial from Eastern Washington University]

[Go to Top of Page]


Download / Send Citations

EndNote Downloading
Directions on how to output citation information from OSCAR, OhioLINK, and other databases into Endnote bibliographic management software

ProCite Downloading
Directions on how to output citation information from OSCAR, OhioLINK, and other databases into ProCite bibliographic management software.

Reference Manager Downloading
Directions on how to output citation information into Reference Manager bibliographic management software

[Go to Top of Page]


Internet Research

net.TUTOR
Your personal guide to understanding the Net. Choose from lessons on how to use basic tools, searching, and research skills.
[PDF brochure]

The Gateway to Information
Guides you to hundreds of important information sources (print, online, and World Wide Web) suggested by OSU Libraries subject specialists.
[description and history]

[Go to Top of Page]


Other Guides

Guide to Resources and Services
Covers a wide variety of information about the University Libraries, collections, and services, including access to online resources, library catalogs, borrowing materials, maps, finding articles, research help, libraries and collections, remote access, hours, and more.
[PDF version]

Create an Online Coursepack (OSU faculty)
Learn how to create links to online articles provided by library databases and electronic journals.
[PDF version]

Library Instruction
Describes instructional activities, programs, and online tutorials as well as provides information on opportunities to secure course-related instruction, library instruction materials, instruction assistance and other services designed to assist users identify, locate, search, and evaluate relevant information in the University Libraries.
[PDF version]

Library Language
Shows definitions for many commonly-used library and research terms.
[PDF version]

Library of Congress Classification Guide
Lists the Library of Congress classification letter and the corresponding subject each letter represents in the University Libraries.
[PDF version]

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
Provides information for OSU-affiliated users as well as Kent State Library Program students, OSU Courtesy Card holders, and the general public on how to connect to the Libraries online resources via HomeNet, commercial Internet providers, and the Greater Columbus Freenet, as well as how to configure your browser for telnet.

Search Strategy for Library Research
Graphic map and accompanying text details a step-by-step process for a research project, starting with a solid foundation of background resources, then exploring more focused information materials.
[PDF version]

[Go to Top of Page]


Library Maps

University Libraries Map (8.5" x 11")
Shows entire Ohio State University Columbus campus buildings, with all libraries clearly indicated, along with library addresses, phone numbers, and OSCAR codes.
[PDF version]

University Libraries Map Poster (22" x 34")
Provides identification of all Ohio State University Columbus campus buildings, as well as all University Libraries locations clearly indicated. Also lists addresses, phone numbers, and OSCAR codes for Columbus campus, Regional campus, and other University Libraries not located on the Columbus Campus.
[PDF version]

[Go to Top of Page]


Libraries and Special Collections

Resources for the World's Languages and Cultures
Details subject and special collections at Ohio State to support research in international studies. Includes information about collections such as International Documents; Western European Languages; East European and Slavic Studies; Latin American, Spanish,, and Portuguese; Hebraica and Jewish Studies; Middle East; Chinese; Janapese; Africana; and more.
[PDF version]

Special Collections
Details the collection description, address, telephone number, e-mail and hours for the eight special collections located in the University Libraries' system, including the Byrd Archival Program, Cartoon Research Library, Hilandar Research Library, Jerome Lawrence & Robert E. Lee Theatre Research Institute Library, Medical Heritage Center, Rare Books and Manuscritps, University Archives and Photo Archives, and the William Charvat Collection of American Fiction.

[Go to Top of Page]


Last Update: 1/18/08