The Ohio State University

www.osu.edu

  1. Help
  2. Campus map
  3. Find people
  4. Webmail


Ohio State University logo University Libraries arrow Guides and Tools

Chicago Citation Guide
(Notes-Bib.)

[Click a link to jump down to the relevant section]


Books (one author)

Books (two to three authors)

Books (corporate authors)

Journal Articles (one author

Journal Articles (two authors)

Newspaper Article

Thesis or Dissertation

Electronic Journal Article

Electronic Book

Web Site


Research and Internet Aids

Libraries' Home

How Do I ... Cite Resources?

Chicago Manual of Style

Notes - Bibliography System

(Recommended for Literature, History, and the Arts)



Introduction

This guide is based on the The Chicago Manual of Style 15th ed. (University of Chicago Press, 2003). Examples are shown for the newer Notes-Bibliography system recommended for literature, history, and the arts.

Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Notes (footnotes or endnotes) citations are placed in the body of paper.

For additional examples, please consult The Chicago Manual of Style 15th ed. available in the Reference collections in many Ohio State University Libraries. (Z253 U69 2003). See also the Chicago Manual of Style Web site at http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html.

[Go to Top of Page]



Book

(one author)

Bibliography:
Yow, Valerie Raliegh. Recording oral history: A Guide 
	for the Humanities and Social Sciences. 
	Walnut Creek, CA: Alta Mira Press, 2005.

Notes:

	Valerie Raliegh Yow. Recording Oral History: A Guide 
for the Humanities and Social Sciences (Walnut Creek, CA: 
Alta Mira Press, 2005), 102-3.

[Go to Top of Page]


Book

(two or three authors)

Bibliography:
Adams, Don, and Arlene Goldbard. Creative Community: 
	The Art of Cultural Development. New York: 
	Rockefeller Foundation, Creativity & Culture 
	Division, 2001.

Notes:

Don Adams and Arlene Goldbard. Creative community: the 
	art of cultural development (New York, NY: 
	Rockefeller Foundation, Creativity & Culture 
	Division, 2001).

[Go to Top of Page]


Books

(corporate or organization author)

Bibliography:

Oberlin College. Conservatory of Music. Library. Mr. 
	and Mrs. C. W. Best Collection of Autographs, in 
	the Mary M. Vial Music Library of the Oberlin College 
	Conservatory of Music. Oberlin, OH: Oberlin College 
	Library, 1967.

Notes:

	Oberlin College. Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Best Collection 
of Autographs, in the Mary M. Vial Music Library of the 
Oberlin College Conservatory of Music (Oberlin, OH: Oberlin 
College Library, 1967), 75-78. 

[Go to Top of Page]


Journal Article

(one author)

Bibliography:
Banks, William.  "A Secret Meeting in Boise." Midwestern 
	Political Review 6 (1958): 26-31.

Notes:

	William Banks. "A Secret Meeting in Boise," Midwestern 
Political Review 6 (1958): 29.

[Go to Top of Page]


Journal Article

(two authors)

Bibliography:
Brown, Cecelia M., and Lina Ortega. "Information-seeking 
	Behavior of Physical Science Librarians: Research 
	and Practice" College & Research Libraries 66 
	(2005): 231-247.

Notes:

	Cecelia M. Brown and Lina Ortega. "Information-seeking 
Behavior of Physical Science Librarians: Research and Practice" 
College & Research Libraries 66 (2005): 233.

[Go to Top of Page]


Newspaper Article

Bibliography:

Zamiska, Nicholas and Nicholas Casey. "Toy Makers Face 
	Dilemma Over Supplier." Wall Street Journal, 
	August 17, 2007, Corporate Focus section.

Notes:

	Nicholas Zamiska and Nicholas Casey. "Toy Makers Face 
Dilemma Over Supplier," Wall Street Journal, 
August 17, 2007, Corporate Focus section.
 

[Go to Top of Page]


Thesis or dissertation

Bibliography:

Ryals, D. "Renaissance Speculation: Shakespeare and the 
	Prehistory of Liberalis" (PhD diss., University of 
	California, Irvine, 2006).

Notes:

	D. Ryals. "Renaissance Speculation: Shakespeare and the 
Prehistory of Liberalis" (PhD diss., University of California, 
Irvine, 2006), 31-32.

[Go to Top of Page]


Electronic Journal Article

Bibliography:
Scott, Jonathan. "Advanced, Repressed, and Popular: Langston 
	Hughes During the Cold War." College Literature 33, 
	no. 2 (Spring 2006). http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail?
	vid=4&hid=7&sid=615a204d-b42c-4ee7-b038-d2544a33ab8e%
	40sessionmgr8 (accessed July 29, 2007).

Notes:

	Jonathan Scott. "Advanced, Repressed, and Popular: Langston 
Hughes During the Cold War." College Literature 33, no. 2 
(Spring 2006). http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail?vid=4&hid=7
&sid=615a204d-b42c-4ee7-b038-d2544a33ab8e%40sessionmgr8 
(accessed July 29, 2007).

[Go to Top of Page]


Electronic Books

Bibliography:
Hartog, Hendrick. Man and Wife in America: A History. 
	Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2002. 
	http://quod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=acis;;
	idno=heb04365 (accessed August 21, 2007).

Notes:

	Hendrick Hartog. Man and Wife in America: A History. 
Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2002). http://quod.lib.
umich.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=acis;;idno=heb04365 (accessed 
August 21, 2007).

[Go to Top of Page]


Web Site

Bibliography:
Rutgers University. "The National Marriage Project." 
	http://marriage.rutgers.edu/ (accessed August 1, 2007)

Footnote:

	Rutgers University, "The National Marriage Project." 
http://marriage.rutgers.edu/ (accessed August 1, 2007)

[Go to Top of Page]


Last Update: 1/9/08