The Ohio State University

www.osu.edu

  1. Help
  2. Campus map
  3. Find people
  4. Webmail


Ohio State University logo University Libraries arrow Guides and Tools

APA Citation Style

[Click a link to scroll to the relevant section]


Introduction


Print Resources

Book (one author)

Book (two/three authors)

Book (corporate author)

Book Chapter

Journal Article (one author)

Journal Article (two or more authors)

Magazine Article (one author)

Magazine Article (no author)

Encyclopedia Article

Newspaper Article (no author)

ERIC Document


Electronic Database & Internet

Electronic Journal Article (from a database)

Electronic Journal Article (exact duplicate of print version)

ERIC Document (from a database)

Web Site

Other Internet sites


Library Research and Internet Aids

Libraries' Home

How do I ... Cite Resources?

APA Citation Guide


[Practice with the Interactive online tutorial from Eastern Washington University]



Introduction

This guide is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2001).

Use the Reference style for items listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. The In-Text style is for the same items referred to in the body of the paper. Include page numbers in the In-Text style only when directly quoting from a source (as shown in all examples below). When paraphrasing from the source, omit the In-Text page numbers.

For additional examples, please refer to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.. available in the reference collections in the Ackerman Library; Sullivant Library; and other Ohio State University libraries. (Call number: BF76.7.P83 2001). See also "Frequently Asked Questions" on the APA Web site at http://www.apastyle.org/faqs.html.

Please note:

  • APA now uses hanging indent formatting in the reference list
  • For In-Text direct quotes, add page numbers: e.g., (Komisar, 1991, p. 13)
  • [Go to Top of Page]


    Book

    (one author)

    Reference:
    Komisar, L. (1991). The new feminism. New York: 
    	Franklin Watts.
    

    In-Text:

    (Komisar, 1991, p. 201) 
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Book

    (two authors)

    Reference:
    Strunk, W., Jr., & White, E.B. (1979). The elements 
    	of style(3rd ed.). New York:Macmillan.
    

    In-Text: (two authors):

    (Strunk & White, 1979, p. 43)
    

    In-Text (three or more authors):

    (Strunk, White, & Smith, 1979, p. 43)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Book

    (corporate author)

    Reference
    Ohio State University Natural Resources Institute (1959). 
    	A directory of Ohio facilities and services for 	
    	resources conservation. Columbus, OH:Natural 
    	Resources Institute.

    In-Text

    (Ohio State University Natural Resources Institute, 1959, p. 33)

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Book Chapter

    Reference
    Roll, W.P. (1976). ESP and memory. In J.M.O. Wheatley
    	& H.L. Edge (Eds.), Philosophical dimensions 
    	of parapsychology (pp. 154-184). Springfield, 
    	IL:American Psychiatric Press.
    

    In-Text

    (Roll, 1976, p. 161)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Journal Article

    (one author)

    Reference:
    Maki, R.H. (1982). Categorization effects which occur 
    	in comparative judgment tasks. Memory & 
    	Cognition, 10, 252-264.
    

    In-Text:

    (Maki, 1982, p. 260)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Journal Article

    (two authors)

    Reference:
    Atkinson, R.C., & Shiffrin, R.M. (1971). The control of 
    	short-term memory. Scientific American, 225, 
    	82-90.
    

    In-Text

    (Atkinson & Shiffrin, 1971, p. 87)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Magazine Article

    (no author)

    Reference:
    The blood business. (1992, September 11). Time, 97, 
    	47-48.
    

    In-Text:

    ("Blood Business," 1992, p. 47)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Magazine Article

    (one author)

    Reference:
    Kandel, E. R. (2000, November 10). Neuroscience: 
    	Breaking down scientific barriers to the study 
    	of brain and mind. Science, 290, 1113-1120.
    

    In-Text:

    (Kandel, 2000, p. 1119)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Encyclopedia Article

    Reference
    Warren, S.A. (1977). Mental retardation and environment. 
    	In International encyclopedia of psychiatry, 
    	psychology, psychoanalysis, and neurology (Vol. 7, 
    	pp. 202-207). New York: Aesculapius Publishers.
    

    In-Text:

    (Warren, 1977, p. 204) 
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Newspaper Article

    (no author)

    Reference:
    Amazing Amazon region. (1989, January 12). New 
    	York Times, pp. D11, D14.
    

    In-Text:

    ("Amazing Amazon Region," 1989, p. D11)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Educational Resources Information Center Document

    (ERIC)

    Reference:
    Mead, J.V. (1992). Looking at old photgraphs: 
    	Investigating the teacher tales that novice 
    	teachers bring with them. (Report No. NCRTL-RR-92-4). 
    	East Lansing, MI:National Center for Research on 
    	Teacher Learning. (ERIC Document Reproduction 
    	Service No. ED346082).
    

    In-Text:

    (Mead, 1992)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Electronic Journal Article

    (from a database)

    Reference:
    Jacobson, J.W., Mulick, J.A., & Schwartz, A.A. (1995). 
    	A history of facilitated communication: Science, 
    	pseudoscience, and antiscience. American Psychologist, 
    	50, 750-765. Retrieved from PsycINFO database.
    

    In-Text:

    (Jacobson et al., 1995, p. 755)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Electronic Journal Article

    (Exact duplicate of print version)

    Reference:
    Vanden, G., Knapp, S., & Doe, J. (2001). Role of reference 
    	elements in the selection of resources by psychology 
    	undergraduates. [Electronic version]. Journal of 
    	Bibliographic Research, 5, 117-123.

    In-Text:

    (Vanden et al., 2001, p. 120)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    ERIC Document

    (from a database)

    Reference:
    Mead, J.V. (1992). Looking at old photographs: Investigating 
    	the teacher tales that novice teachers bring with them. 
    	East Lansing, MI:National Center for research on Teacher 
    	Learning. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED346082) 
    	Retrieved from ERIC (Educational Resources Information 
    	Center) database 
    

    In-Text:

    (Mead, 1992)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Web site

    Reference:
    Thaller, M. (2007) Cool cosmos. Retrieved August 27, 
    	2007, from http://coolcosmos.ipac.caltech.edu/
    

    In-Text:

    (Thaller, 2007)
    

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Web Site

    Refer to:
    Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html

    [Go to Top of Page]


    Research and Internet Aids | OSU Libraries

    Last Update: 1/18/08