|
APA Citation Guide
Introduction
Use the Reference style for items listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. The In-Text style is for the same items referred to in the body of the paper. Include page numbers in the In-Text style only when directly quoting from a source (as shown in all examples below). When paraphrasing from the source, omit the In-Text page numbers. For additional examples, please refer to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.. available in the reference collections in the Ackerman Library; Sullivant Library; and other Ohio State University libraries. (Call number: BF76.7.P83 2001). See also "Frequently Asked Questions" on the APA Web site at http://www.apastyle.org/faqs.html. Please note:
Book(one author)
Komisar, L. (1991). The new feminism. New York: Franklin Watts. In-Text: (Komisar, 1991, p. 201)
Book(two authors)
Strunk, W., Jr., & White, E.B. (1979). The elements of style(3rd ed.). New York:Macmillan. In-Text: (two authors): (Strunk & White, 1979, p. 43) In-Text (three or more authors): (Strunk, White, & Smith, 1979, p. 43)
Book(corporate author)
Ohio State University Natural Resources Institute (1959). A directory of Ohio facilities and services for resources conservation. Columbus, OH:Natural Resources Institute. In-Text (Ohio State University Natural Resources Institute, 1959, p. 33)
Book Chapter
Roll, W.P. (1976). ESP and memory. In J.M.O. Wheatley & H.L. Edge (Eds.), Philosophical dimensions of parapsychology (pp. 154-184). Springfield, IL:American Psychiatric Press. In-Text (Roll, 1976, p. 161)
Journal Article(one author)
Maki, R.H. (1982). Categorization effects which occur in comparative judgment tasks. Memory & Cognition, 10, 252-264. In-Text: (Maki, 1982, p. 260)
Journal Article(two authors)
Atkinson, R.C., & Shiffrin, R.M. (1971). The control of short-term memory. Scientific American, 225, 82-90. In-Text (Atkinson & Shiffrin, 1971, p. 87)
Magazine Article(no author)
The blood business. (1992, September 11). Time, 97, 47-48. In-Text:
("Blood Business," 1992, p. 47)
Magazine Article(one author)
Kandel, E. R. (2000, November 10). Neuroscience: Breaking down scientific barriers to the study of brain and mind. Science, 290, 1113-1120. In-Text: (Kandel, 2000, p. 1119)
Encyclopedia Article
Warren, S.A. (1977). Mental retardation and environment. In International encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, psychoanalysis, and neurology (Vol. 7, pp. 202-207). New York: Aesculapius Publishers. In-Text: (Warren, 1977, p. 204)
Newspaper Article(no author)
Amazing Amazon region. (1989, January 12). New York Times, pp. D11, D14. In-Text:
("Amazing Amazon Region," 1989, p. D11)
Educational Resources Information Center Document(ERIC)
Mead, J.V. (1992). Looking at old photgraphs: Investigating the teacher tales that novice teachers bring with them. (Report No. NCRTL-RR-92-4). East Lansing, MI:National Center for Research on Teacher Learning. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED346082). In-Text: (Mead, 1992)
Electronic Journal Article(from a database)
Jacobson, J.W., Mulick, J.A., & Schwartz, A.A. (1995). A history of facilitated communication: Science, pseudoscience, and antiscience. American Psychologist, 50, 750-765. Retrieved from PsycINFO database. In-Text: (Jacobson et al., 1995, p. 755)
Electronic Journal Article(Exact duplicate of print version)
Vanden, G., Knapp, S., & Doe, J. (2001). Role of reference elements in the selection of resources by psychology undergraduates. [Electronic version]. Journal of Bibliographic Research, 5, 117-123. In-Text: (Vanden et al., 2001, p. 120)
ERIC Document(from a database)
Mead, J.V. (1992). Looking at old photographs: Investigating the teacher tales that novice teachers bring with them. East Lansing, MI:National Center for research on Teacher Learning. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED346082) Retrieved from ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database In-Text: (Mead, 1992)
Web site
Thaller, M. (2007) Cool cosmos. Retrieved August 27, 2007, from http://coolcosmos.ipac.caltech.edu/ In-Text: (Thaller, 2007)
Web Site
Last Update: 1/18/08 |