The Ohio State University

www.osu.edu

  1. Help
  2. Campus map
  3. Find people
  4. Webmail


Ohio State University logo University Libraries arrow Geology Library
Compendex[OSU access only]

1969 to present
Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines, as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2,600 published journals, conference proceeedings and individual conference papers, technical reports, mongraphs and other materials.

GEOBASE[OSU access only]

1990 to present
(1990 - present) - GEOBASE from Elsevier/Geo Abstracts is a bibliographic database of the global literature in earth science, ecology, geography and marine science. The range of sources abstracted make this tool appropriate for searching multidisciplinary topics such as environmental or geographical studies and other areas that cross traditional subject boundaries. The database includes coverage from 1994 with indexing of 3000 journals and approximately 2000 other sources including books, proceedings, reports, irregular publications, maps, and theses.

GEOnet Names Server (GNS)

Provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's (NIMA) database of foreign geographic feature names.

GeoRef [OSU access only]

1785 to present
GeoRef is the electronic version of the American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 1.9 million records of North America literature since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. To maintain the database, GeoRef editor/indexers regularly scan more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports.

INSPEC [OSU access only]

1969 to present
INSPEC is the leading English-language abstracting and indexing service providing source information from the world's literature on all aspects of physics, electronics and computing. INSPEC scans papers from approximately 4,200 journals, 1,000 conferences, and other publications, adding over 250,000 records each year.

MathSciNet[OSU access only]

1940 to present
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database of the world's literature on mathematics and its applications in a wide range of disciplines, including statistics, computer science, operation research, econometrics, engineering, physics, biology, and many other related areas.

NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program[OSU access only]

NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
1915 to present
The NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program supports the acquisition, organization, management, and dissemination, and long-term retention and safeguarding of STI relevant to NASA's research and development and missions.

National Geologic Map Database

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Helps you find information about maps and related data for: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.

National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI)

The goal of this Infrastructure is to reduce duplication of effort among agencies, improve quality and reduce costs related to geographic information, to make geographic data more accessible to the public, to increase the benefits of using available data, and to establish key partnerships with states, counties, cities, tribal nations, academia and the private sector to increase data availability.

Online Geographical Bibliography[OSU access only]

1985 to present
American Geographical Society publishes Current Geographical Publications. This is the database of the references published in CGP.

Digital Chart of the World Data Server

The Digital Chart of the World (DCW) is an Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc. (ESRI) product originally developed for the US Defense Mapping Agency (DMA) using DMA data. Server is maintained by The Pennsylvania State University Libraries. The database was developed in 1991/1992 and national boundaries reflect political reality as of that time.


Compiled by Mary W. Scott, Geology Librarian, Orton Memorial Library of Geology
Designed by Michael C. Veres, Student Library Assistant
Page updated: April 18, 2007