American Geophysical Union Meeting Asbtracts databases
(1995 - current) - Abstracts are searchable by author, title, meeting, keywords, etc.
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) [OSU and OhioLINK access](1980 - current) - BIOSIS Previews contains references to journal articles, reports, literature reviews, conference papers, patents, and book synopses in the life sciences.
Biota Australis TerrestrisA searchable catalogue of about 10,000 records of terrestrial and freshwater organisms which inhabit Antarctica, the subantarctic islands of the Southern Ocean bordering the Antarctic Convergence, and the more temperate islands in the South Atlantic, Indian and Pacific Oceans. From North Dakota State University, Allan Ashworth.
Columbia Earthscape [OSU access]An integrated, interdisciplinary resource that connects the Earth and environmental sciences with their social, political, and economic dimensions. Although it primarily serves undergraduates, it also functions as an online reference for graduate students, investigators, and professionals, as well as a core text and enrichment for high schools and continuing education.
COMPENDEX [OSU and OhioLINK access](1969 - present) - Compendex (Engineering Index online) provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines, as well as related fields in science and management.
Comptes Rendus....A chart with the history of this title and all the title changes, from P. Carey, University of Washington Libraries.
Crossfire Beilstein/Gmelin Databases [OSU access only]Software must be installed on your computer to access Crossfire. The Beilstein CrossFire database covers the worldwide literature of organic chemistry from 1771 to the present. The Gmelin CrossFire database covers the worlwide literature of inorganic chemistry from 1772 to 1994.
Geobase [OSU Access](1990 - present) - GEOBASE from Elsevier/Geo Abstracts is a bibliographic database of the global literature in earth science, ecology, geography and marine science. The range of sources abstracted make this tool appropriate for searching multidisciplinary topics such as environmental or geographical studies and other areas that cross traditional subject boundaries. The database includes coverage from 1994 with indexing of 3000 journals and approximately 2000 other sources including books, proceedings, reports, irregular publications, maps, and theses.
GEOLEXGeologic Names Lexicon - USGS - GEOLEX is a search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names.
Geological Society of America meeting abstracts(1997 - current) - Abstracts are searchable by author, keywords, title.
GeoRef Database [OSU and OhioLINK access only]GeoRef is the electronic version of the American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 1.9 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. The database is the equivalent of four major reference publications: Bibliography of North American Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Geophysical Abstracts, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology.
GeoRef Preview DatabaseFree access to references of recent geoscience publications (via AGI)! Each weekend, completed references are removed from the Preview database and transferred to GeoRef, new references are added, and changes are made in the remaining data.
GEOSCAN CanadaThe Canada Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS) Scientific Publications Database has been integrated into the GEOSCAN database, comprising more than 45 000 records of publications released by CCRS or Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) authors. GEOSCAN is now the repository for all Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) bibliographic information.
ISI Citation Index [OSU and OhioLINK access only](1965 - current) - The Science Citation Index Expanded indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Updated weekly.
Library of the Geological Survey of Japan: GEOLISGEOLIS is a bibliographic database on earth sciences. It covers literature about Japan and its adjacent sea area, written by Japanese authors or published in Japan.
QUAKELINE®QUAKELINE®, the database of the Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER), which is located at University of Buffalo, contains bibliographic information on earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazards mitigation, and related topics. An effort has been made to exclude from QUAKELINE® those items that are indexed by the NTIS, COMPENDEX, and GeoRef databases; thus for a comprehensive search on a topic, these sources should also be consulted. The database includes 1987 to the present with some selective earlier coverage.
SciFinder Scholar [OSU access only]Software must be installed on your computer to access SciFinder Scholar. SciFinder Scholar/Chemical Abstracts is the largest and most comprehensive database of chemical literature in the world. It covers not only the core areas of chemistry, but also chemistry related sciences such as biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology and environmental science among others.
State Bibliographies OnlineThese are bibliographies maintained by the state geological surveys. Links to Illinois, Kansas, Maine, North Dakota, South Dakota and Washington
Union List of Field Trip Guidebooks of North America OnlineThe Union List of Field Trip Guidebooks of North America is now available on the Internet. This database contains the information in the print publication, The Union List of Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks of North America, sixth edition, compiled and edited by the Geoscience Information Society, Guidebooks Committee, Richard Spohn, Chair, and published by the American Geological Institute, in 1996.
Map DatabasesGeographic Names Information System (GNIS)
Contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States. Can serve as an index to the topographic quadrangle maps.
GEOnet Names Server(GNS) provides access to the National Imagery and Mapping Agency's (NIMA) database of foreign geographic feature names.
USGS National Geologic Map DatabaseThis mineral database contains more than 5,000 web pages of mineral data. There are 4,102 individual mineral species descriptions with links.
NomenclatureGeologic Names Lexicon "GEOLEX"
USGS Geologic Names Database - GEOLEX is a search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names
Index Nominum GenericorumThe Index Nominum Genericorum (ING), a collaborative project of the International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT) and the Smithsonian Institution, was initiated in 1954 as a compilation of generic names published for all organisms covered by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature.
Nomenclator ZoologicusNomenclator Zoologicus is a continuous record of the bibliographical origins of the names of every genus and subgenus in zoology published since the 10th ed. of Linnaeus' Systema Naturae in 1758 up to 1994 in nine volumes. Names are listed alphabetically, with a bibliographic reference to the original description of each one and an indication of the animal group to which it belongs. There are an estimated 340,000 genera represented in the text as well as approximately 3000 supplemental corrections
Paleobiology DatabasesThe Paleobiology Database is a public resource for the scientific community. It has been organized and operated by a multi-disciplinary, multi-institutional, international group of paleobiological researchers. Its purpose is to provide global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for marine and terrestrial animals and plants of any geological age, as well as web-based software for statistical analysis of the data. The project's wider, long-term goal is to encourage collaborative efforts to answer large-scale paleobiological questions by developing a useful database infrastructure and bringing together large data sets.
Paleontology DatabasesBibliography of Fossil Vertebrates
The Indexed Published Literature of Vertebrate Paleontology, 1509 - 1993. The BFV Online provides interactive access to the Society of Vertebrate Paleontology's Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates series.
Bibliography and Index of Paleozoic Crinoids, Coronates, and Hemistreptocrinoids 1758-1999.Compiled by Gary Webster. Geological Society of America Special Paper 363 - an online database available free.
Dinosaur and Paleontology DictionaryAll content on the Enchanted Learning web pages is copyrighted by Enchanted Learning Software; this copyright applies to both text and images
Ellis and Messina catalogues of Micropaleontology [OSU access only]The Ellis and Messina database consists of the taxonomic titles in the Foraminifera, Ostracoda, and Diatom catalogues.
U.S. Geological Survey Databases
USGS National Geologic Map Database
USGS Publications Warehouse
The Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey is a subset of the GeoRef database established by the American Geological Institute. This online version of the USGS publications database is provided by the Community of Science under a licensing agreement. The database provides access to the publications of the USGS and includes references to U.S. Geological Survey reports and maps published from 1880 to date, references to non-USGS publications with USGS authors published from 1983 to date, and 225 references to reports produced by the Hayden, King, Powell, and Wheeler surveys.
USGS Water Related Open-File Reports OnlineCompiled by Mary W. Scott, Geology Librarian, Orton Memorial Library of Geology
Designed by Michael C. Veres, Student Library Assistant
Last updated: September 11, 2006