Cartoon Research Library Database
The Cartoon Research Library is currently the largest and most comprehensive academic research facility documenting printed cartoon art in the United States. Administratively it is one of five special collections libraries that are part of Ohio State University Libraries. This database is a finding aid for some of the Library's collections and may be searched by creator, publication, title, date, topic, persons or objects shown, genre or format.
Project manager: Lucy Caswell, Cartoon
Research Library
Link: http://library.osu.edu/sites/cgaweb/db/
Census Index
Census Index is designed to improve access to United States Census information in library collections by providing an online index to Census publications. Records for Decennial Census publications produced between 1790 and 1997 have been entered into to the database. Each record includes basic bibliographic information about the title. Most records also include an abstract. The records in this database represent primarily print (paper) publications. The database includes records for 1990 Decennial Census titles distributed to depository libraries in CD-ROM format. It does not include records for magnetic tapes or floppy disks. Links to online versions of publications are provided in the notes field in cases where freely accessible versions were found.
Project manager: Sherry
Moeller, Government Documents
Link: http://library.osu.edu/sites/reference/govdocs/census/Cenindex.htm
Literary Map of Africa
The Literary Map of Africa is a bio-bibliographical database, developed as a comprehensive research and information tool on African literature. It brings together writers from both North and sub-Saharan Africa and reflect the continent’s multiple histories, cultures and languages.
The database offers researchers and students of African literature, as well the general user, a range of information about writers and their works: biographical data, a list of primary works, selected secondary literature, book and performance reviews, and interviews, which may be in print, electronic, or multimedia format. The database has three mode of access. One can perform a simple search for a writer’s name or the title of primary work. Or, they can choose a country from the clickable map of Africa to view the writers associated with it, select any writer and get the bibliography attached to that name. Another possibility is via the alphabetical list of authors.
Project manager: Miriam Conteh-Morgan, African Studies Subject Specialist
Funding source: American Library Association and support from OSU Libraries
Status: in development
Photograph Collection Database
Many collections of photographs are available in the Cartoon Research Library. Of special importance is the Floyd and Marion Rinhart Collection of nineteenth and early twentieth century images. Other collections include Farm Security Administration photographs, dye transfer prints by Harry Callahan, and work by Bernice Abbott, Harold Edgerton, Anne Noggle, Aaron Siskind, and Weegee (Arthur Fellig). The Ohio News Photographers Collection represents the best of photojournalism achieved by Ohioans each year. The database may be searched by creator, process, title, date, topic, or persons or objects shown. Photographs pertaining to The Ohio State University and its history are available through University Photo Archives.
Project manager: Lucy Caswell, Cartoon
Research Library
Link: http://library.osu.edu/sites/cgaweb/pg/
Portal to Asian Internet Resources
The Portal to Asian Internet Resources (PAIR) offers scholars, students and the interested public more than six thousand professionally selected, cataloged and annotated online resources. PAIR, based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is a cooperative project of The Ohio State University Libraries, the University of Minnesota Libraries, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. Ohio State contributes Japanese content to the database.
The catalog presents freely available Internet resources for research and study of modern East, Central, South, and Southeast Asia on a broad range of topics in the humanities and social sciences. Resources are from various sources including academic, government, commercial, trade and industry, and non-governmental organizations. The catalog includes current information and data such as bibliographies and databases, data sets, newspapers and journals, government reports, and organization sites. Resources are in English and/or one or more of 27 Asian languages.
Project manager: Maureen
Donovan, East Asian Studies
Link: http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/PAIR/
Union List of Japanese Serials and Newspapers
The union list includes 8,323 titles held by 44 libraries. Overall this represents 31,956 holdings records. This resource may be browsed by title or by subject. When searching the database, users may look for terms in various fields of the record and limit results by library. Funding for this project was provided by the Ohio State University (1997-2000), the Japan-US Friendship Commission through the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources and the AAU/ARL Global Resources Program (1997-98, 2000), and Honda R + D Americas, Inc (1998-99).
Project manager: Maureen
Donovan, East Asian Studies
Link: http://eas.lib.ohio-state.edu/uljsn/