Sport and Exercise Science encompasses a variety of related disciplines: athletics, teacher education, sociology, psychology, kinesiology, exercise physiology, physical therapy, and sports medicine are among those represented. For this reason, the researcher must often consult a variety of resources in order to satisfy informational needs.
Quick Jumps: Finding Books Finding Articles Journals Finding Information on Tests Reference Sources
OSCAR, the Libraries online catalog, provides access to over 5 million volumes housed in Ohio State University's library system. An OSCAR search can easily and quickly be converted into a search of OhioLINK, a database that examines the holdings of other libraries throughout the state. OhioLINK books can usually be obtained in 4 or 5 days. Books unavailable on OhioLINK may be located on Worldcat and borrowed by graduate students, staff and faculty via interlibrary loan. Such requests are made through OSCAR.
Books may be located on OSCAR by using the following subject headings:
|
Athletics Coaching (Athletics) Excercise Nutrition |
Kinesiology Physical Education Physical Fitness Physical Therapy |
Sports Administration Sports Medicine |
Subject searches incorporating the following subheadings are also productive:
Sports--Marketing
Sports-Psychological Aspects
Sports--Sociological Aspects
Keyword searching expands possibilities by permitting the searcher to enter any significant terms and connecting them with boolean operators "and", "or", or "not."
Indexes available online (accessible by title at "Other Online Research Tools" on the Libraries Homepage: www.lib.ohio-state.edu):
Physical Education Index (via CSA) Indexes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press. Content ranges from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet) A fequently updated source of full text articles providing news and marketing information from sports industry sources. Includes international sporting goods equipment market reports for 35 countries, export and import statistics, trade magazine and newsletter pages dealing with finance, licensing, fashion, women's and youth sports, sponsorship, research reports, and ratings.
SPORT Discus (via EBSCO) indexes sport and fitness literature from 1975 to present, covering the fields of sport medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, and related topics. The database was developed by the Sport Information Resource Center (SIRC) of Canada. The French sports database Heracles is included.
MEDLINE (via Dataware) Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 3,400 journals published in 70 countries. Beginning January 2001, the database incorporates the information formerly contained in the AIDSLINE, BioethicsLine, and HealthSTAR databases.
Education Abstracts (via Dataware) indexes 400 periodicals (the great majority of them held at the Education, Human Ecology, Psychology & Social Work Library), 1985 to present, covering the fields of education (including audiovisual, comparative, competency-based, multicultural, religious and vocational), special education, teacher education, educational technology, counseling, language and linguistics, literacy standards, psychology, and teacher/parent relations.
ERIC (via Dataware) indexes 775 periodicals, 1966 to present, covering the research literature in the fields of education, teaching methods and practices, and educational systems. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, the database consists of Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE). The former consists of journal articles, the latter of microfiche ERIC documents (full set located in cabinets found in the lower level of the Sullivant Library).
Print versions of Education Abstracts (called Education Index), Physical Education Index, and ERIC are also available. The historic set of Education Index begins its coverage in 1929.
While the databases mentioned above are beginning to offer full-text access to the articles they index, in most cases the researcher still needs to refer to the print copy of the journal. The Education, Human Ecology, Psychology & Social Work Library subscribes to over 100 Physical Education and Exercise Science journals. Recent issues are located in room 205. Back issues are shelved in bound volumes found in room 005. Arrangement is by Library of Congress call number. Journal call numbers can be obtained via "OLINK" or "find a copy" links found in the databases, or by consulting black binder notebooks located at the reference desk in room 205. Articles in journals not held at Ohio State may be requested by graduate students and faculty through interlibrary loan (ILLiad) via OSCAR.
These titles are located to the right of the front entrance to room 205.
Ray D. Collins and Patrick B. Hodges. A Comprehensive Guide to Sports Skills and Measurement. GV436.C63 2001.
Ronald F. Kirby. Kirby's Guide to Fitness and Motor Performance Tests. QP301.K55 1991.
Andrew C. Ostrow, ed. A Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences, 2nd ed. BF176.D57 1996.
Bradford N. Strand and Rolayne Wilson. Assessing Sports Skills. GV436.5.S84 1993.
The following select titles are among those contained in the reference collection located in room 205:
Jenkins, Simon P.R. Sports science handbook : the essential guide to kinesiology, sport and exercise science GV558J46 2005.
Lawrence H. Berlow. Sports Ethics: A Reference Handbook. GV706.3.B47 1994.
Mark D. Bracker, ed. The 5 Minute Sports Medicine Consult. RC1211.A145 2001.
Thomas W. Brucato. Major Leagues. American Sports History Series #18. GV581.B78 2001.
Timothy John Lindsay Chandler. Sport and Physical Education: The Key Concepts. GV567.C43 2002.
Karen Christenson, Allen Guttmann, and Gertrud Pfister. International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports. GV709.I58 2001.
Doris Corbett, John Cheffers, and Eileen Crowley Sullivan, eds. Unique Games and Sports Around the World. GV1201.38.U55 2001.
Richard Cox, Grant Jarvie, and Wray Vamplew, eds. Encyclopedia of British Sport. GV605.E53 2000.
Francois Fortin, ed. Sports: The Complete Visual Reference. GV704.S663 2000.
Thomas A. Green. Martial Arts of the World: An Encyclopedia. GV1101.M29 2001.
John Holway. The Complete Book of Baseball's Negro Leagues: The Other Half of Baseball History. GV875.N34H65 2001.
Thomas M. Howard. Blackwell's Primary Care Essentials, Sports Medicine. RC1211.H69 2001.
Donald G. Jones. Sports Ethics in America: A Bibliography, 1970-1990. Z7514.M66J66 1992.
National Association for Sport and Physical Education. Moving into the Future: National Physical Education Standards: A Guide to Content and Assessment. GV443.N258 1995.
David L. Porter, ed. Biographical Dictionary of American Sports. Baseball. GV865.A1B45 2000.
O. Potparic and J. Gibson. A Dictionary of Sports Injuries and Disorders. RC1206.P68 1996.
James A. Riley. The Biographical Encyclopedia of the Negro Baseball Leagues. GV865.A1R473 2002.
Victoria Sherrow. Encyclopedia of Women and Sports. GV709.S44 1996.
Michele Shoebridge. Information Sources in Sport and Leisure. Z7511.S48 1992.
Robert N. Singer, Heather A. Hausenblas, and Christopher N. Janelle, eds. Handbook of Sport Psychology. GV706.4.H27 2001.
John Zumerchik, ed. Encyclopedia of Sport Science (2 vols.) GV558.E53 1997.
Physical
Education: The Specialist Collection. GV211.P58 1996.
(microfiche in reference microform cabinets; online guide at Primary Source Microfilm's Online Guides
allows keyword searching; print guide in reference collection provides author index only)
Over 1500 microfiche covering material from the 18th century through
World War I. The range of subject matter includes correct posture,
debates about fresh air, and prevention of epidemics. Various exercises
are described, many with accompanying diagrams, as well as illustrations
of equipment for therapeutic exercise. The latest ideas and techniques
from Western Europe and the United States.
Return to Physical Activity and Sports Resources
Page
Comments: Gerry
Greenberg, Collection Manager
for Physical Activity and Sports
URL: /sports/ResearchGuide.php
Last updated: 17 January 2007
©1998--2005 The Ohio
State University Libraries. All Rights Reserved.