Posts filed under 'Research databases'
The Plant Management Network is a unique cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Designed to provide plant science practitioners fast electronic access to proven solutions, the Plant Management Network offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network’s partner universities, companies, and associations. In addition, the network’s four peer-reviewed citable journals, Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazinglands, and Plant Health Progress, provide credible current information in areas important to practitioners, policy makers, and the public.
October 30th, 2007
The OSU Libraries has added new access to the backfiles of the ISI databases: Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). For SCI and SSCI, database coverage now extends back to 1965; AHCI begins with 1975.
September 24th, 2007
Wouldn’t it be nice to know who is citing your work, or other important work in your field of research? Finding and tracking the seminal highly cited work in your field is easy if you use the citation indexes in the Web of Science!
Don Sechler, a member of the Thomson Scientific/ISI customer education department, will be at the Prior Health Sciences Library to provide instruction on the navigation and uses of the Web of Science.
In the short training session you will learn how to search for your topic, papers that you have written, papers published by a company or university, and papers that have cited your work. You will learn how to search and navigate, how to do a cited reference search to find the number of papers that cited your work, and how to find journal impact factors. You will also learn to save search strategies, create citation alerts and to print, save, and export your results. How the databases are created, how the journals are selected, and ISI’s editorial policies will also be covered.
Sessions will be held on:
April 24, 2007
Session (1) 9-10:30am
Session (2) 1-2:30pm
Room 200 Prior Health Sciences Library
Register for ONE of the above sessions online at: http://library.med.ohio-state.edu or call 2-4796 or e-mail Rebecca.Ayers@osumc.edu
Brought to you by the Health Sciences Library & CKM
April 19th, 2007
Science.gov is a search engine for government science information and research results. Currently in its fourth generation, Science.gov provides search of more than 50 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 1,800 scientific Web sites.
Science.gov 1.0 was launched in December 2002, providing for the first time wide public access and a unified search of the government’s vast stores of scientific and technical information. Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 16 U.S. government science organizations within 12 Federal agencies. These agencies form the voluntary Science.gov Alliance.
In May 2004 Version 2.0 was launched, introducing real-time relevancy ranking to government science retrieval. This technology, funded by the Department of Energy, helps citizens sort through the government’s reservoirs of research and return results most likely to meet individual needs. An advanced search capability and other enhancements were added.
A free and convenient “Alert” service was released in February 2005, allowing citizens to receive e-mail alerts about the most current science developments in their areas of interest. Up to 25 relevant results from selected information sources can be delivered. Results are displayed in the Alert email and in a personalized Alert Archive, which stores six weeks of alerts results. In the Archive, past activity can be reviewed and Alert profiles edited.
Science.gov 3.0 took relevancy ranked search to a higher level of precision. Launched in November 2005, Version 3.0 provided more refined search queries of federal science databases. Science.gov 3.0 deploys a sophisticated method for ranking science query results by using a complex system of metadata elements, when available, including information within title, author, date, abstract and/or other keyword identifiers. In addition, greatly enhanced fielded searching and the extensive Boolean capabilities offer new search options for Science.gov users.
In February 2007, the Science.gov Alliance launched version 4.0, which allowed even further refinement of search queries. For the first time, patrons could search within their original results. In addition, the relevancy ranking algorithms became more sophisticated, providing ranking of the entire full text of documents on sites where searchable full text resides. Date of the document was priority-weighted for ranking purposes. A new feature allows patrons to share search results via e-mail with colleagues and friends.
February 20th, 2007
This year, the University Libraries has purchased a special subscription to Dissertation Abstracts!!
FREE full-text is now available for all recent (1997-) dissertations, but only until February 2007. We encourage everyone to use this database as you explore the research literature in your subject area. This is a rich resource that will complement the other resources that are available through the OSU Libraries.
October 12th, 2006